Home > Tasting my brew > Tasting impressions #71: EKG Oatmeal Pale Ale

Tasting impressions #71: EKG Oatmeal Pale Ale

July 18, 2014

This beer ended up at 5.1 per cent abv. Nice head, ample carbonation, looks a bit hazy:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Perhaps it is the porridge oats that make the head so fluffy but do I feel a difference in mouthfeel  because of oats? Can’t say that I do. So back to using smaller amounts.

Aroma is a bit minty and taste the same with some added vegetative flavours. Sharp and bitter on the tongue but there’s something cloying too. Bramling Cross worked much better as a single hop, let alone Pacific Jade. Quite hefty feel to this and drinkable no doubt, but a large bittering addition of EKG at least in this case does not work. In Hop Back Summer Lightning it works so perhaps I just can’t hack it (offers of brewing apprenticeships gladly accepted). Never mind, one of my older 5 litre mini-casks of this started leaking so problem partially solved. It’s OK really, just not the way I wanted it to be. And it still very young so there’s hope. Onwards and upwards.

Categories: Tasting my brew