Home > Tasting my brew > Tasting impressions #69: May Gold

Tasting impressions #69: May Gold

May 20, 2014

While I was rambling in the Surrey Hills and sampling Surrey Hills’ and Hog Back’s beers my golden ale was conditioning nicely. Finished at 4.4 per cent abv and bottled ten days ago it was just the ticket after a busy day in the garden.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Malty and grainy aroma with some oaky wood character. Mouth feel is soft and crisp, soft and round in a way that I now associate with oatmeal, flaked oats, in the grist.

What a co-incidence, my first beer at the Dorking Beer Festival last Friday was a golden ale from Hogs Back, HOP Garden Gold, in cask, at 4.4 per cent abv, not a bad beer at all. I believe mine is tighter and crispier, the kiwi hops giving the slight lift in the end.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Easy drinking and sessionable but also quite moreish.

Categories: Tasting my brew