Home > Tasting my brew > Tasting impressions #50 & #51: Kiwi Bitters

Tasting impressions #50 & #51: Kiwi Bitters

September 14, 2013

Two pale ales against each other, both using Nelson Sauvin hops.  First one tasted is #51 Kiwi Golden Ale.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Delicate tropical fruity aroma, some Nottingham yeastiness. Good balance between dusty bitterness which I associate with Challenger, Progress etc  hops, and slight tropical fruitiness, Progress dominating though. Medium mouthfeel with good drinkability. Better balanced than the other brew. Typically English bitter but with a touch of something different – I guess that’s the Nelson Sauvin hops coming through. Actually very interesting that this feels very English although it has Hallertau and NZ Pacifica which I think is a Hallertau derivative.

So let’s have a glass of #50 Nelson’s Savant Bitter shall we? (see what I did there).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Slightly more coppery in colour, looks like a beer. Aroma is peach and Juicy Fruit chewing gum, has stronger aroma than the other beer. Some bitter pine resin first when the hops hit, then afterwards white winey character but not too much at all. Not quite as drinkable as the other one and not as balanced. Crystal malts seem to add some extra goodness.

I believe the first one takes the lead but both beers definitely come up trumps against #49 that I’m not even going to blog about. That I found too harsh and metallic and I guess it was the NZ Pacific Jade hops that did it – SWMBO didn’t find anything wrong at all about it – bless her soul as I have not brewed a beer yet to disappoint her.

Very chuffed with the effort, perhaps these colonial chaps know how to grow a hop bush or two.

Categories: Tasting my brew