Home > Tasting my brew > Tasting impressions #48: Progress Single Hop from a Cask

Tasting impressions #48: Progress Single Hop from a Cask

August 11, 2013

I recently tasted the bottled version here, the beer is far from without faults. Yesterday I opened the 5-litre cask and could only finish a glass or two – metallic, crude, alcoholic. Today as I am doing research (trip reports to follow)

IMG_2323

I opened the vent/bung and poured half a pint (this is actually the second one)

 

What a transformation overnight. Dry, bitter but not harsh, a decent drop really. I’ve never had a home brewed cask that needed a day to taste good, usually I get a bit of foam and fizzyness first, then it settles down but the taste has always been there from the start. Luckily this beer is soon behind me – I just can’t get my head around it.

Categories: Tasting my brew