Home > Tasting my brew > Tasting notes #10: Northdown Bitter

Tasting notes #10: Northdown Bitter

January 5, 2012

Appearance: orangey, with reddish hue, hazy. Nice carbonation, one-finger foam which dissappears later on leaving a tight lacing on the glass.

Aroma:  refreshingly fruity, some strawberry and mango, no sign of yeastiness that was there a week or so after bottling.

Mouthfeel: almost full, considering the relatively low ABV of 4.4%. Some tingling carbonation.

Taste: bitterness really shines through, perhaps for the first time in my brews – the hop spider diy-thingy where the hops have room to float does seem to do the trick. Overt fruitiness that was still there a week after bottling is gone. Surprisingly dry, given that the beer finished quite high. However, there is some harshness in the bitterness, and the beer seems to somehow punch above its weight.

Conclusion: especially like the malt base, the red looks really appetising. I would balance the hops slightly though towards the late addition and cut back the bittering. Worth brewing again with some tweaking. The recipe is here.

(These are the first proper tasting notes on my own beer, hopefully I’ll get better putting my thoughts down in writing – every beer always seems to taste like…well, beer…)

Categories: Tasting my brew